276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Lost Sisters: The Folk of the Air Novella

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The story begins with Jude and her two sisters. As children their parents were murdered and they were whisked away to live in the High Court of Faerie. Now nearly an adult, Jude desperately wants to belong there despite being human. The Lost Sister is powerful. The writing was captivating and the characters were realistic. I enjoyed this so much. I really enjoy Kathleen McGurl’s writing and I look forward to the next novel she writes! There are truly unlikeable characters in both time lines and I never really took to Harriet. She was a bit bland. I The Seven Sisters series sees Lucinda Riley at the top of her game: she is a magical storyteller who creates characters we fall in love with and who stay with us long after we finish reading. Her latest book, The Missing Sister, is what we’ve all been waiting for.’ The book is a collection of short stories organized into nine chapters, which are richly illustrated. The chapters include stories from Cardan's early childhood, occurring before the main trilogy; stories occurring within the timespan of the trilogy, told from Cardan's point of view; and stories occurring after the events of The Queen of Nothing.

The three Higgins sisters sail on the Olympic, the Titanic, and the Britannic. Oldest sister Emma becomes a stewardess on the Olympic. Middle sister Ruby causes a scandal and joins Emma as a stewardess on the maiden voyage of Titanic. During WWI, Emma joins youngest sister Lily, a nurse serving on the Britannic. Two of the ships sink, lives are lost & others changed forever.

I found that I could not put this novel down! I was desperate for Harriet to learn more about the sisters in the photograph. At the same time, I wanted to see her family reconciled and that Harriet would not be as isolated (even if she did not necessarily feel it). Furthermore, I was enthusiastic to see how Emma’s travels would unfold and, throughout the story, was constantly picturing scenes from the 'Titanic' movie. (And, yes, a certain DiCaprio might have featured in those imaginings too!) When the story moved to the First World War, I was interested to see how Emma would participate in the war effort and found that I learnt even more as a result of McGurl’s research and writing.

McGurl has managed to create a masterpiece… a must-read for historical fiction lovers.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 starsOverall this is a lovely novel filled with tragedy, mistakes, lost opportunities and family rifts, yet also with love, loyalty and a passion for the sea. It will appeal to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, or has an interest in the White Star liners of the era. The writing is vivid and the storyline is woven together well. Not actually knowing until close to the end which of the Higgins sisters is “lost” and which sister is the grandmother actually made it more intriguing.

Southampton 1911: Ever since she was 4 years old and experienced the ferry crossing to the Isle of Wight, Emma Higgins has had a love for the sea. So when the White Star Line introduces its new liner Olympic and is looking for new staff, Emma leaves her mundane job at a local hotel and signs up as a second class stewardess for the liner's maiden voyage. Excited at the prospect of taking to the sea, she cannot wait to share her news with her mother and two sisters. The contemporary story isn’t stronger than the historical one, and maintaining the links and resonances between them is something the author manages particularly well, but there were times when I found it more engaging. Harriet was particularly easy to identify with – I empathised with the way she’d neglected her relationship with her brother, really liked the tentative steps towards a reconciliation, and there were aspects to her difficult relationship with her daughter Davina that worked particularly well at an emotional level. And there are quite a few surprises – connected with the story of her grandmother and her sisters, but also stemming from the twists and turns of the contemporary one. Liliver, "The Bomb": Member of the Court of Shadows; Dain's former spy and explosives expert; Van's loverThe Lost Sisters (2018) is a companion novella from the perspective of Jude's twin sister Taryn Duarte. It is available only as an audiobook and an e-book. [2] McGurl’s writing is vivid and captures the excitement of sea travel in the early twentieth century. On the other hand, the writer carefully explores the importance of family connections and how we should not drift apart, despite the differences we may have. Whilst the novel does end on a note of optimism, I could not help but feel a little emotional about all the ties coming together. Perhaps, for me, the story was over too soon: I had felt so invested in the past and present stories that I wanted just that little bit more to read. Don’t miss the latest novel from the USA Today bestselling author of The Secret of the Chateau. Perfect for fans of The Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village! It didn't take me long to be drawn into the stories of the three sisters, Emma, Ruby & Lily in 1911 and that of Harriet and her family in present day. They only have one clue – an image of a star-shaped emerald ring. The search to find the missing sister will take them across the globe – from New Zealand to Canada, England, France and Ireland – uniting them all in their mission to complete their family at last.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment